Anthony de Lioncourt’s 80’s Stylized THE PROTOKON and How The Smiths’ ‘Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now’ Is A Soundtrack For Young Struggling Artists

Anthony de Lioncourt
Filmmaker – The Protokon

(Read more here)

Filmmaker Anthony de Lioncourt’s 80s Stylized THE PROTOKON and How The Smiths’ ‘Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now’ Is A Soundtrack For Young Struggling Artists

Film Courage:  What were your plans after high school?

Anthony: To pursue a music career.  That’s really all I wanted to do at that point.  I played a lot of shows (solo acoustic mostly) around NY and some out of state stuff.  After awhile it felt like I was just pissing in the wind and stopped playing out all together.  I grew to hate playing live.  The whole idea of it is a joke to me.  I wrote and recorded songs that meant something to me at that moment.  To try and dig up those feelings in front of a drunk audience at some dive was just lame.  So I just put out releases,  and that’s it.  A good friend of mine Scott (who was an amazing singer and mentor to me) always tried to help me out.  He was rather well known in the music scene and even hooked me up with an ex manager of his.  Again,  I didn’t want to play live so there wasn’t much he could do for me.  I did find some success with the underground CD trading world.  I got into some zines and got some good reviews.  In reality,  that’s where my music fit anyway.  It wasn’t some toe tapping type of thing.  It was very dark and atmospheric.  If I knew then what I know now I think I could have done a whole lot more with it.  I have releases on Spotify and itunes under a band name I created for myself,  but there’s no need to promote any of that stuff.  It was another life.

(Read more here)

via FilmCourage.com.

More video interviews at Film Courage Youtube

*On Set Photography by Eugene Lin

BIO:

Anthony de Lioncourt was born and raised in New York.  He started out as a singer/songwriter before trying his hand at filmmaking.  The Protokon is Anthony’s first film,  which he wrote,  directed,  shot,  edited,  and scored.  His style is influenced by late 70’s and early 80’s films, as well as experimental cinema.  Recently Anthony and his film The Protokon was featured in a six page spread in issue 23 of Digital FilmMaker Magazine.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.