Do The Hardest Films To Make Turn Into The Best Movies? by Brad Sykes

Brad_Sykes_Do_The_Hardest_Films
Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Film Courage: At what point did the stakes rise for you with making films where you had money that was given to you, it became more serious and then it became more stressful because now you’re responsible for more? How did you handle this? 

 

Brad Sykes, FilmmakerI think that one of the movies where that happened for me on was a movie idea called DEMON’S KISS which was the biggest budget I’d had until that point. I’d probably directed five or six movies to that point and DEMON’S KISS was a bigger budget and was shot on film. Right off the batt that puts you in another bracket economically. It was a longer schedule, was just a bigger film and it was the first film I was making for this particular company. 


Also it was a script that was a concept I had pitched to the investor. Which I should point out that a lot of the films are made back then (especially horror films and exploitation films) and stuff sometimes someone would just come to you or they’d come to the producer you’re working with and say “We want to make this movie and are you in or you’re out?” They already had a title, the artwork, they’d already done pre-sales in Milan or something. And they’d say it was your choice whether you want to be involved in the movie or not. 


DEMON’S KISS was something I pitched. I had the title, the concept and I pitched it and it got the green light. I was writing it and directing it so it was very important to me not only to handle the production well and come in on budget but to make a good movie that I’d be happy with too. Because I was actually getting more resources to do it with that was one of the films I think for sure. I can’t say I had fun making that movie. I mean I’ve made movies…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.