The Best Question You Can Ask Anyone – Kaia Alexander

Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Film Courage: What if someone says you know I’ve lived in my little small town all my life, my parents were very supportive and they let me stay with them until I was 30. You seem adventurous, you’ve been on your own I think for a while as a young person? You don’t strike me as someone who’s scared of picking up a phone and calling somebody.

Kaia Alexander, CEO/founder of the Entertainment Business School/Podcast Host/ Author: I strike you that way now. I was a shy kid. I was an observer. I grew up in the type of family where my parents are always arguing, a lot of us do as writers. We lean into becoming observers. We detach, we distance, we watch, we observe and that is a way of keeping ourselves safe. I was really shy. I wasn’t that bold. I didn’t really approach people ever, anywhere. The boldest I had to be in my teen years was the first time I had to get a job I have to talk to somebody? How does that work?

Then flash forward into my 20s getting this job as a development exec, the hardest thing, the scariest thing was that I had to pick up the phone and call people and build relationships. I think for a lot of writers that is a really scary part. If you grew up in a small town and you’ve been living with your parents for a really long time and it is like a safe zone for you, before you’re going to spread your wings maybe you’re going to move to the big city and hopefully staff in a writer’s room. I bet you’re a great observer. I bet you’ve been watching the world for a long time. There is a tiny little town really close to where I live now…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.