You Finished Your Movie… Now What? – Sean Reid

[Watch the video interview on Youtube here]

Film Courage: Who are the first people you want to see the finished product of the Internal Butler [our hypothetical movie we’ve done during the interview]? Producer’s rep, distributor, sales agent, film festivals?

Sean Reid, Producer: Let’s back it up. Let’s say that we’re in the process of post- production and we’ve just got the assembly together. Maybe I want myself, the director and maybe one other person to see it. I don’t want everybody to see the assembly because it’s not going…[you are going] to be disappointed because if you’ve never watched an assembly, you just don’t. People’s brains don’t work well if they don’t understand what they’re watching with an assembly. Why isn’t this done? They don’t understand to just watch what they can see, they want to watch everything else. 

Then I get to that next one, let’s say now we’re at a cut but not quite the fine cut, but a cut where it’s good enough, where they’ve got everything in it, then maybe now all the producers can see it. Maybe some of the money people can see it, maybe, depending on how happy we are. Then really I’m waiting till the fine cut where just about everything is done but maybe you’re missing a title here or there. Maybe the picture is all cut but we’re still waiting for the sound? Then I maybe let people watch it who would maybe still question but I’d still let them watch it. 

When I finally have a cut/cut then I’m probably still wanting to do some kind of test screening where I’m at least screening it for cast and crew. Then at that point if I’m happy with that then maybe I’m looking at…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.