Breaking Into Feature Filmmaking – P.M. Lipscomb [FULL INTERVIEW]

Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Film Courage: Patrick, you’ve been a filmmaker for 15 years?

P.M. Lipscomb, Filmmaker: Yeah. 

Film Courage: Was it everything you thought it would be?

P.M.: There’s lots of sides to that question. No one ever goes in expecting the amount of stress that comes with it but I think the reason is because people overlook the idea of management. When you go in to make your own movie (as a director) you’re managing all the personalities on set. You’re managing everybody’s going to come into this and I think we have a fantastical idea of what that would look like. Directing a movie and the reality of it is you really have got to decide if you’re going to put the camera here or a half inch there and everything has to be shifted one way or the other. With that said it’s completely different than what I expected but there’s nothing else in the world that keeps my interest like all the different levels of making a film, as far as writing and shooting and editing and how different all of those are from one another.

Film Courage: Is it easier or more difficult than you anticipated, making movies? 

P.M.: On April 23, 2006, that was the day I devoted my life to cinema. I told a friend of mine a dream I had and he responded with You should make movies. Something clicked in my head. At that particular time I was skateboarding a lot and going into the sponsored skateboarder route. When I first started making movies for the first five or six years, I only viewed it like skateboarding, taking people, sneaking into a location, filming something and then running away. I would make these films and show my family members every holiday but I didn’t know about film festivals. I didn’t know about how it could be a living or anything of that sort. I feel like throughout the time you’re making stuff, you start to hear these little nuggets of…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.